We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best possible user experience. Disabling these cookies may prevent our site from working efficiently. To find out more about our cookies read our privacy policy.

York St John celebrates its scholars

York St John University celebrated the success of its SPARK (Securing Potential and Releasing Knowledge) scholars at a special event held on Thursday 24 March in the Students’ Union.

Staff, students and donors came together to celebrate the fundraising programme run by the University and to acknowledge the success of the 2010/11 scholarship recipients. Guests also had the opportunity to meet previous scholars and learn more about how they have benefited from the scholarship programme.

Scholars are awarded scholarships on a competitive basis in a number of fields. The success of the SPARK initiative has enabled the University to award two fully funded international scholarships to students from Kenya and Gaza. Susan Njogu (Kenyan SPARK scholar) and Mosab Abu Mandil (University of Gaza SPARK scholar) are now studying masters courses at York St John as a result of donor generosity.

York St John University’s scholarship programme SPARK has supported students from a wide variety of backgrounds to study academic and professional programmes across the University since its launch in 2005. This includes scholarships for new students, helping students who experience unexpected hardships, funding placements and exchange visits, and enabling students approaching graduation to prepare for the world of work or to start their own business.

Brett Arnall, Alumni & Development Manager hosted the event. He said:

“It was wonderful to see such a mix of people who have all supported the SPARK initiative. York St John has a very supportive community, with current students also heavily involved in raising funds to support their fellow students. SPARK has supported many exceptional students and we are committed to raising further funds to be able to offer more opportunities to students at York St John.” 

SPARK scholarship winners 2010/11

Mosab Abu Mandil, Masters in Counselling: University of Gaza SPARK scholarship
Susan Njogu, Masters in Leadership and Management: Kenya SPARK scholarship
Fiona Ewing, BA History: Returner to Education SPARK scholarship
Gillian Firth, BA Creative Writing and Media: Overcoming Barriers to Learning SPARK scholarship
Chelsea Kear, BA Film & TV Production: SPARK scholarship for the Arts
Katie Kew, BSc Occupational Therapy: Vice Chancellor’s SPARK scholarship
Thomas Kirby, MA Documentary Production: SPARK scholarship for the Arts
Alison Lowther, BA Education Studies and English: Returner to Education SPARK scholarship
Alex Morrell, BSc Sports Science and Injury Management: Overcoming Barriers to Learning SPARK scholarship
Peter White, BSc Psychology: Vice Chancellor’s SPARK scholarship
Chloe Wright, BSc Occupational Therapy: SPARK scholarship Faith/Community Engagement

SPARK Occupational Therapy placement scholarship winners 2010/11

Catherine Chalmers, Kirsty Edwards, Sarah Masefield, Clara Hudson, Mathew Jennings, Jessica Trim.

SPARK Outgoing Exchange scholarship winners 2010/11

Stephanie Muir, Catherine Phipps, Mark Gleadhill, Ben Selby, Claire Gurney.

Picture shows (left to right): Susan Njogu, Kate Hutchings (Alumni & Development Officer), Mosab Abu Mandil, Brett Arnall (Alumni & Development Manager)

For further information please contact Amy Hall, PR & Communications Officer on T: 01904 876466 or E: a.hall@yorksj.ac.uk


News RSS feed